Virginia Tech Football Helmet--GO HOKIES!
John's Home Page
About John Nolley II
John's Writing
Photography
John's Travels
John's Interests
John's Various Projects
Food, Wine, and Reviews from John's Kitchen
John's Favorite Web Links
Contact John
John Nolley II - Internet Home Page http://www.exerda.com/john
Interests : College Football : Visit from a Domer

Your Tax Dollars at Work: A Visit from a Lame Domer

Google and Yahoo do work, although not always as intended. Apparently, some Notre Dame fan searching the Internet for info on military flyovers at Notre Dame games found my little football page (notice how both the Neutred Lame Domers and flyovers are featured therein), and apparently said fan did not approve of my labeling the Irish as a "bandwagon" team as I do above. I received the following e-mail (edited slightly to keep my page rated "G"):

Date: Fri, 08 Oct 2004 08:47:44 -0400
From: Kiss My Ass 
Subject: Home Page: Suggestions Message

You're a f**king retard. Not everyone is a Notre Dame bandwagon
rider, you dip****.

Oho, what a creative "from:" field ... unfortunately, the fan in question apparently is not cognizant of the fact that everything on the Internet gets logged, and a little middle-school creativity with the "from:" field won't keep his identity hidden for long. You see, my web server here at exerda.com keeps logs, and upon inspection, I found some interesting items (edited slightly for formatting; I've removed the referrer field and some extraneous info):

199.173.226.225 [08/Oct/2004:08:45:48 -0400]
     "GET /john/interests/football"
199.173.226.225 [08/Oct/2004:08:46:16 -0400]
     "POST /john/contact.html"
199.173.226.225 [08/Oct/2004:08:47:44 -0400]
     "POST /john/contact.html"
199.173.226.225 [08/Oct/2004:08:47:45 -0400]
     "GET /john/contact_thanks.html"

Ah-hah, this Domer tried to use the site's "Comments" feature without specifying an address the first time, then when the site told him he had to put in an addy, he came up with his creative "KMA@gotohell.com."

The referrer lines (which show the last page you visited) indicate that my visitor had come from a Yahoo search for "Notre Dame military flyovers" as I said earlier:

199.173.226.225 [...] "http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=military+
     flyovers+Notre+Dame&ei=UTF-8&fr=FP-tab-web-t&fl=0&x=wrt"

Note that the time the message was sent (via the POST to my contact form) corresponds exactly to that of the message; I've got mail server logs, too, that further connect the two.

The kicker, though, is the visitor's IP address, which maps back to a host in the ssa.gov domain: aka the Social Security Administration. Please note the timestamps: 8:47 am, eastern time (the -0400 time zone is due to daylight savings time).

Yep, said government employee, salary paid for via our tax dollars--along with his computer and Internet access--spent part of his morning at work sending flame mail to yours truly because he or she disagrees with the fact that I see Notre Dame as a bandwagon team.